To Write or To Knit, That is the Question!

So I just got home from the writer’s group I belong to here in town. And honestly, I haven’t written since a couple days after our last meeting. Why go then? For one, it spurs me on to write – even if it is for just a few days after the meeting. At least there is some writing that happens! Second, I love talking with other writer’s about writing. It’s so much fun! Why it’s more fun than actually writing!  It’s one of my favorite topics, besides what knitting I’m doing, of course.

Speaking of knitting, that’s why I’m not writing. I spend too much computer time on Ravelry or knitting blogs. That’s not to mention the hours of knitting I rack up each week. I finished making the Daybreak Shawl designed by Stephen West last week. It turned out beautiful, but is a little scratchy. I think it just needs washed. It’s sock yarn. That can’t be scratchy, right? Who would be willing to wear scratchy socks? I already blocked it and I’m not looking forward to washing and blocking it again. Blocking is an ordeal here because of one wool-crazy cat named Polly. I have to lock her out of whatever room the wet wool is drying in or she’ll try to eat it, which would not be a good idea with all the straight pins stuck in every inch of the shawl! So for now my shawl is hanging as a beautiful decoration out of reach of little paws. Maybe someday I’ll wear it.

I was asked by a friend to knit some Christmas decorations. Can’t say who or what because I’m sure theyre Christmas gifts. I’ve been working on them religiously. I want to have them done soon since she actually paid me to knit them. Does that make me a professional knitter?! Wow!

I also joined the LYS’s (local yarn shop) knitalong. We’re knitting together two hours a week. The project is a beautiful wrap out of the latest Interweave Knits magazine called the Everyday Wrap. It is full of cables and is knitting up beautifully. I can’t wait to wrap it around my shoulders!

One top of all that, Kelsey wants a pair of socks and leg warmers. Jessica wants a sweater for her doll. And I want to knit EVERYTHING in the Itty Bitty Toys book by Susan B. Anderson.

When to write?! I should have joined the NaNoWriMo. Like I have time for that kind of writing! Maybe next year I’ll set November aside as the month of finally writing that novel I’ve dreamed of writing for all these many years and take the NaNoWriMo challenge.

Leave a Reply

