A Month in the Dark Ages

After nearly a month, I finally have a computer with an internet connection. I went through withdraw, but secretly enjoyed the freedom. I didn’t waste time surfing the web. But I also couldn’t print out files sent to me that needed printing. It’s been a curse and a blessing.

But honestly, it’s been such a crazy month that I needed something cut out of the schedule. In a way, February feels like the beginning of the year for me. January was such a whirlwind month.

Don’t get me wrong. It’s been a great month. I spent five days in Seattle, Washington. Seattle in January? Not the normal idea of a warm winter vacation spot. But actually it was one of the warmest areas in the United States that week. It rained half the time, but that’s Seattle. I enjoyed walking in the rain instead of trudging through the snow and ice.

I was in Seattle for the American Farm Bureau Farmers and Ranchers’ National Convention. It was a good convention. I could go on and on about farm related facts, but honestly the best part was getting carded in front of the booth handing out free samples of Washington State wine. I felt so young. I think it may have been because when asked what kind I wanted I said, “Uhh, I don’t know.” (Maybe I should have said, “the purple one.” I’m sure that would have helped.)

Well, there was one better moment. When the flight attendent asked me if Jeff, my husband, was my father. Ha! That was a great one!

Seattle was a wonderful get away! I took the ferry across to Bainbridge Island. Beautiful! I could move there today. I visited the Pikes Market…a few times, ate some delicious food, visited with some friends, read a little and, of course, knitted a lot.

The one thing I did not do while there was work on the Chix One Day. And boy did I pay for it when I got home! But that’s for another blog. Maybe tomorrow. I have a computer! Yeah!

Leave a Reply

