Chix One Day

The last several months of my life have been consumed with planning the Chix One Day. It’s amazing to me how quickly something is over. It’s like a meal. You can cook for hours and find the food consumed in minutes. That’s the way the Chix One Day was for me. Honestly, I don’t remember “tasting much of the meal.” Really it wasn’t for me anyway. So it’s okay that the day was a blur.

It didn’t start out well, since my alarm didn’t go off. I woke up three minutes before I was supposed to be there. (I live thirty minutes away.) Oops! But when I arrived everyone was busy with their jobs and hadn’t even noticed my absence. Whew!

I think that for most everyone else attending that day, it was good. I saw a lot of women smiling, laughing, sharing, snacking, creating, and most importantly worshipping God. The best part of the day for me was watching the women spend time alone with God. It made me very happy, made the day worth it all. We gave them a chance to communicate with their Creator.

I was glad I was a part of making it happen. You must know that there were many others who worked hard too. I’m so glad I was able to serve with them. It’s encouraging to know you can trust others to be willing and dependable. What’s that old saying? “Many hands make light work.”

So, the Chix One Day is over for another year. But guess what? Before the day was even over, Jody and I were planning next year’s retreat. In fact, we’ve already met and decided on a theme. We want to get a head start. Twelve months isn’t too soon, is it? We must be a little insane.

Leave a Reply

